

Minutes of Council

Meeting date Wednesday, 24 May 2023

Committee members

present:

Councillors David Howarth (Mayor), Chris Lomax (Deputy

Mayor), Will Adams, Jacky Alty, Deborah Ashton,

Hilary Bedford, Jane Bell, Damian Bretherton,

Aniela Bylinski Gelder, Matt Campbell, Matthew Farnworth,

James Flannery, Mathew Forshaw, Paul Foster, Peter Gabbott, Jasmine Gleave, James Gleeson,

Mary Green, Michael Green, Harry Hancock, Jo Hindle-Taylor, Clare Hunter, Lou Jackson, Will King, Keith Martin,

Peter Mullineaux, Nicky Peet, Pete Pillinger, Lesley Pritchard, Wesley Roberts, Colin Sharples,

David Shaw, Margaret Smith, Phil Smith, Emma Stevens, Caleb Tomlinson, Matthew Tomlinson, Angela Turner,

Karen Walton, Ian Watkinson, Connor Watson, Kath Unsworth, Paul Wharton-Hardman and

Haydn Williams

Officers present: Chris Sinnott (Chief Executive), Chris Moister (Director of

Governance), Jennifer Mullin (Director of Communities), Darren Cranshaw (Head of Democratic Services), Ruth Rimmington (Democratic Services Team Leader) and

Louise Bamber (PA to the CEO)

Public: 130

A video recording of the public session of this meeting is available to view on <u>You</u> <u>Tube here</u>

1 Apologies for absence

Apologies were received from Councillors Julie Buttery, Colin Coulton, James Lillis, John Rainsbury, George Rear and Elaine Stringfellow.

2 Declarations of Interest

No declarations of interest were received.

3 Proposals for the Election of the Mayor for 2023/34

It was proposed by the Leader of the Council, Councillor Paul Foster, seconded by the Cabinet Member (Communities, Leisure and Wellbeing), Councillor Clare Hunter and subsequently

Resolved (unanimously) that Councillor Chris Lomax be elected the Mayor of South Ribble Borough Council for 2023/24.

The Retiring Mayor and Mayoress and the newly elected Mayor and Mayoress exchanged robes and badges of office.

Councillor Chris Lomax signed the declaration of acceptance of office of Mayor, and thanked Councillors for his appointment. He introduced his Mayoress, Kim Lomax.

Councillor Chris Lomax in the Chair

4 Vote of thanks to the Retiring Mayor, Councillor David Howarth

It was proposed by Councillor Harry Hancock, seconded by Councillor David Shaw and subsequently

Resolved (unanimously)

That a vote of thanks be placed on record to the Retiring Mayor, Councillor David Howarth in recognition of the Council's appreciation of his services during his year of office.

Councillor David Howarth responded, thanking Councillors for their kind words and support over the year.

The Mayor presented commemorative badges and album to Councillor David Howarth and Councillor Ange Turner to commemorate their year of office.

5 Proposals for the Election of the Deputy Mayor for 2023/24

It was proposed by the Leader of the Opposition, Councillor Karen Walton, seconded by the Councillor Margaret Smith and subsequently

Resolved (unanimously) that Councillor Peter Mullineaux be elected the Deputy Mayor of South Ribble Borough Council for 2023/24.

The Mayor presented the Deputy Mayor and Mayoress with their chains of office.

Councillor Peter Mullineaux signed the declaration of acceptance of office of Deputy Mayor, and thanked Councillors for his appointment. He introduced his Deputy Mayoress Margaret McManus.

Mayor	Date